Vietnam ratifies CPTPP Tariff Agreement

Vietnam has become the seventh country that ratified the Comprehensive and Progressive Trans-Pacific Partnership Tariff (CPTPP) Agreement. The first six countries that ratified the CPTPP were Canada, Australia, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, and Singapore. As per Customs Notice 19-02, all seven counties now are eligible for CPTPT tariff treatment as of January 14, 2019. The Customs Tariff has been updated respectively.

The CPTPP is a free trade agreement aimed at promotion of trade through elimination of tariffs that was signed by Canada, Australia, Brunei, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, and Vietnam. Brunei, Chile, Malaysia, Peru have yet to ratify the agreement. Upon its complete implementation, the CPTPP will eliminate duties on 99% of tariff lines of the participating countries.

BDC, EDC, and the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service of Global Affairs Canada have set up the Canada Tariff Finder web tool to help Canadian companies to find foreign markets with duty-free access.

SC Integrators can help you find Customs Duty Free Goods that you can Import/Export by our Ocean LCL and FCL services.